What makes B.E.L.T. Training, LLC different from other training facilities?
We strive to create an unforgettable training experience complete with pertinent and accurate information, a climate controlled facility, great food, southern hospitality and a beautiful view.
Who is eligible to apply for a SC Concealed Weapons Permit?
SLED must issue a permit, to a resident, military personnel on permanent change of station orders or qualified nonresident* who is at least twenty-one years of age and who is not prohibited by state law from possessing a weapon.
*qualified nonresident means an individual who owns real property in South Carolina, but who resides in another state.
How Long Does it take to get my CWP?
SLED's website states that you will receive your permit in 90 days. However, SLED has informed us that due to recent budget and staff cuts it may take up to 115 days.
When does my SC CWP expire?
SC CWP is valid for four years. 90 days prior to your expiration submit a renewal fee payment of fifty-dollars (this fee is waived for disabled veterans and retired law enforcement officers) along with a completed renewal application; and a photocopy of your valid South Carolina driver's license or identification card, or if you are a qualified nonresident, a photocopy of your valid driver's license or identification card issued by the state in which you reside.
Do I have to qualify with the gun I am going to carry?
No, SLED does not require that you carry the gun you qualify with, however, it is strongly recommended
Can I qualify with a .22 target pistol?
>You may, however, we recommend qualification with a weapon similar to that which you will carry.
How old do you have to be to take the CWP course?
You must be at least 18 years of age to participate in a CWP class, however, SLED will not accept your application until your 21st birthday.
How long do I have to apply after taking the CWP class?
If you are 21 years of age, or over, we process the application for you immediately. If you are under 21, we will provide you with the entire completed application packet to be submitted upon your 21st birthday. Your certificate of training is valid for three years from the date you received training.
Can I attend your class just for the updated information?
Absolutely! We recommend those who have CWP’s seek periodic training to keep current on the ever changing laws.
I don’t want a cwp, I just want to learn how to handle a firearm, Can I attend a cwp class?
You could, however, we offer NRA Basic pistol classes which would probably be better suited to your needs.
Again and again, potential clients call with reservations about obtaining a CWP after being advised by some incredibly uninformed master of mental mediocrity, that mere possession of a CWP can actually increase your liability. In their flawed logic they contend that unlicensed carry, while illegal, is superior to legal licensed carry in that one can always claim to be woefully ignorant in court. Does that mean I cannot break a law if I have never heard of it! Didn’t think so. Ignorance is no excuse, sound familiar?
Don't let yourself be mislead by such idiocy.